Anyone tried running Usurper with MS VISTA OS?

Usurper, game for Local Play, BBS, Intranet or Internet

Moderator: Lenny of Repan

Post Reply
User avatar
Lenny of Repan
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 3:33 pm
Location: Hot Springs National Park Arkansas - USA
Contact:

Anyone tried running Usurper with MS VISTA OS?

Post by Lenny of Repan » Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:25 pm

I'ma doing a little beta testing of VISTA. Using the old Athlon 1Ghz with a 40 Gb HD NTSF file system. Haven't transferred any usurper there yet. Hope to in next week or so. Anyone else tried this combo yet.
læhynê de ræpân
Usurper V0.20e downloads http://www.knaper.com/u/index.html

Usurper information http://www.usurper.info
other links http://www.knaper.com/usrp/telnet-links.html

User avatar
Lenny of Repan
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 3:33 pm
Location: Hot Springs National Park Arkansas - USA
Contact:

Post by Lenny of Repan » Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:42 am

Preliminary,
Usurper v0.20d does run in local mode, but with very slow response, and appears to be very slow whenever having to load new areas of the overlay. I think most of this is caused by the overall slow processing I see from Vista itself. I'm unable to navigate here in the forum, with Vista. Tried axing some messages, and had to leave and return using XP-Pro system.
When I tried using the editor, basic configuration seemed to be just slow. Player editor, kept having problems finding indexed records, for reading and wriing.
læhynê de ræpân
Usurper V0.20e downloads http://www.knaper.com/u/index.html

Usurper information http://www.usurper.info
other links http://www.knaper.com/usrp/telnet-links.html

enderandrew
Squire
Squire
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:27 pm
Location: Omaha, NE
Contact:

Post by enderandrew » Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:10 pm

Neither Vista x64 nor Windows x64 have any support for 16-bit apps. If you are running a 32-bit version of Vista, it should work just fine.

The only way to get a 16-bit app to work in Windows x64 or Vista x64 is via something like DosBox.

This is all the more reason why I'd love to see the source released, so that we can make a native Win-32 version.
Nihilism makes me smile.

User avatar
Lenny of Repan
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 3:33 pm
Location: Hot Springs National Park Arkansas - USA
Contact:

Re:

Post by Lenny of Repan » Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:47 pm

enderandrew wrote:Neither Vista x64 nor Windows x64 have any support for 16-bit apps. If you are running a 32-bit version of Vista, it should work just fine.

The only way to get a 16-bit app to work in Windows x64 or Vista x64 is via something like DosBox.

This is all the more reason why I'd love to see the source released, so that we can make a native Win-32 version.
Thanks for the info. I haven't seen any reason to update from XP-Pro to Vista 32-bit yet. I haven't found it to be reliable in file transfer, nor networking with other PC's (all running XP) in my wired/wireless LAN.
Anything that does work, seems to run extremely slow, including reading files from an installed Dvd-RW/CD-RW drive.I have filed my reports witn MS.

True once the Source is released some may be able to update the versions to run naturally, under different platforms oiother than 16-bit dos.
læhynê de ræpân
Usurper V0.20e downloads http://www.knaper.com/u/index.html

Usurper information http://www.usurper.info
other links http://www.knaper.com/usrp/telnet-links.html

Post Reply